The Power of the Informational Interview

2014090595114726By Cindy Morical
Academic Coordinator
Student Resource Center

Not sure what you want to major in or the type of career you’d like to pursue? Informational interviewing is a great tool to use to explore different professions while at the same time building valuable connections and networking skills.

MY STORY

When I decided to change careers, I did research into many areas to find out what kind of field would be a mutual fit. After taking a career assessment, pharmacist rose to the top of the list. I decided to put the informational interview to the test. I followed the directions and conducted three interviews with practicing pharmacists working in a variety of settings. Through the informational interviews I realized pharmacy was not the field for me. At that point, I considered completing a second bachelor’s degree in a different field. To find out more, I attended an open house at WSU Vancouver. I was then able to cross another field off my list, but at the open house I met our Associate Director of Admissions. I started talking with her about her career and what she does within her career.

My interest was sparked, and I knew I wanted to further investigate the Student Affairs field of higher education. After exploring more and gaining advice from professional connections in the field, I applied for an admissions counselor position at WSU Vancouver. I was persistent and was hired after my third application attempt at WSU Vancouver. Following my work in admissions, I have since moved into academic advising and coordinating a student success program. I enjoyed every part of the journey and love the work that I do.

YOUR TURN

What career field are you interested in learning more about? I challenge you to put informational interviewing to the test! Informational interviewing as well as networking can be important tools to use to help determine the best career fit for you. You may learn way more than you expected just like I did.

Click here to learn more about the Career Services available at WSU Vancouver!

Visit and Connect with us!

Facebook-icon click to visit us on twitter

Leave a comment