Review of the Annual Etiquette Dinner

students and alumni at etiquette dinner hosted by the Student Resource Center

Students and Alumni enjoying the Etiquette Dinner

By Kelsea Rothaus

Last week marked the date of the Annual Etiquette Dinner hosted on campus at WSU Vancouver. The event was a success! The room was filled with students and alumni taking advantage of the opportunity to practice networking skills and formal dining. The dinner featured a four-course meal and a presentation by corporate etiquette and protocol expert, Lori Hennessey who told us:

“Your event is one of my absolute favorites and your students are always respectful and engaged…the best.”

            -Lori Hennessey

In the future, students might find themselves in an unfamiliar situation, such as, being interviewed, spending time in a new culture or being invited to a company dinner. It is helpful to have prior experience with formal dining and networking to develop poise and professionalism.Sometimes interviewees are invited to a dinner during the interview process. The proper dining situation will give the supervisors more information about the potential employee. The interviewer might observe the way the employee candidate conducts them-selves around higher-up colleagues or how they might act around new clients.

 

Student Interview

We interviewed student, Scarlett Hernandez to see what she had to say about the event!

 What is your major?

I am a Public Affairs major. I just switched to this major and haven’t got that far into it yet, but I like the political science class that I am taking for it. I am focusing on Justice Studies and I was looking at some of the other classes I will be taking and I am super excited!

What motivated you to attend the Etiquette Dinner?

As a Public Affairs major I know that I will need to learn how to be professional and be around people. I figured that the etiquette dinner would be a great head start.

In what ways do you think etiquette can benefit future plans for students?

I think formal etiquette is necessary for honestly everyone. We are in a very professional world and have to interact with many people. It is important to have proper manners and social skills.

 What would be your super-power for professional situations?

I would like to be a people reader, not like a mind reader, but someone that knows who is easy to talk to and who is a good connection.

 Is there anything you learned about yourself during the event you’d like to share?

I learned that when I talk to people or shake hands I tend to tilt my head and lower myself, which was something mentioned at the dinner. I was very much aware that I was doing it and tried to stop.

 What did you enjoy most about the networking aspect?

I really enjoyed meeting new people. Also, I do the interviews for Cougar Career Spotlights and I actually got to meet some of the alumni I had interviewed, which was super cool!

Are there any interesting or funny situations you have witnessed at a formal dinner?

I had never really been to a formal dinner, but at the etiquette dinner when I went to shake hands with someone I dumped a whole glass of water on myself.

How would you convince a student on campus to attend the next Etiquette Dinner?

Going to any event provides a fun learning experience and it’s a great way to meet people you wouldn’t necessarily talk to on a regular day.

 

The next Etiquette Dinner will be during Fall semester of 2015 but not to worry, there are many other great events and workshops that are hosted by the SRC on a weekly basis.

If you are interested visit and connect with us!

click to visit us on twitter

click to visit SRC facebook page

Leave a comment